Tuesday, 28 June 2016

Swiss Army Man

    I must admit being drawn to things a little left of centre. I am a fan of such shows and movies as Doctor WhoBlack Books, Party Down, Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, and almost anything that came from the imagination of Wes Anderson and that just says all you need to know about that.

    So it comes as no strange thing that I should be so very enthusiastic about this treat of a film - Swiss Army Man. It looks disturbing [in a most excellent way], magical and beautiful, and I can hardly wait to see it at the cinema. We need more films like this, yes.

Friday, 24 June 2016

What Would Jane Do?

{link}

    I am on something of a Jane Austen binge at the moment. So much so that when I finish rereading all her books in my collection, and watched all the classically loved film and television interpretations, I fear that I may resort to watching the zombie hybrid of Pride and Prejudice. Oh dear god!

    I will not bore you with my reasoning for liking Jane Austen. But I will comment on my thought process of late. When I am stuck and not sure how to proceed, I have been asking myself 'What would Jane do?' As far as I can tell she seemed to have a logical way of thinking, as well an amusing way of seeing, and if her fictional works are anything to go by it is safe to say she was not prone to irrational acts that might betray a less even temper. Well played Jane, I say.

    I decided to conduct a Google search of 'What would Jane do?', hoping to find some hilarious meme on the title. And guess what I found. A book of that very title filled with little quotes from the literary queen of rom-coms herself. If you're looking for this book, it is not to be confused with What Would Jane Austen Do? [written by Laurie Brown] which appears to be a get your kit off type story in the vein of Mills and Boon. Not that I'd actually know about that. 
What Would Jane Do? Quips and Wisdom from Jane Austen
Publisher: Penguin Random House

    While I'm on the topic of Jane Austen I decided to find a few more low brow references in her name. Let's take a look, shall we?


SaveSave

{link}